Anxiety. Other People’s. And Mine.

I have had my bouts with anxiety. They have been fairly mild in the past 3 years, but I remember my worst cases from before easily.

I have a few friends and acquaintances  that have their own experiences with anxiety.

I have noticed that even though I may be in a mode of my own anxiety, when someone else is going through it, mine will disappear and I will be in a clear mindset to help them.

Hmmmm… interesting.

Thinking psychologically, it might be an insight to why my anxiety appears when it does.

I am not a professional so I don’t want to speculate as if it were truth but…

…when I don’t have to focus on my own problem (that may or may not even directly affect me), I am able to help others with their moment if I am present. When it comes to someone else’s anxiety, I cannot stand by idly. They need to be reassured that their feelings are valid but also may be too strong to be healthy. They need to be reassured that they are in a time and space where the problem may exist but it may not be affecting their ability to function right now. They need to be reassured they are obviously quick thinkers but they might need assistance pacing. They need to be reassured that they are in control of their thoughts and body.

Whatever they are going through, I don’t want to be the “fixer” of it. They have to do that. What I do want to be is there with them. For the moment, I want them to know they are not alone and more importantly that they are understood.

Don’t get it twisted with a messiah complex. It’s just a place I know and understand and I can be helpful because of that. Why not help someone? It’s not about me, it’s about them.

Stresses will happen – that’s life. The face of hopelessness, fear, and sadness is not one I like to see… and if given the opportunity, I will try to help alleviate that from them.

Empathy. I am guilty of feeling it very deeply. It lets me know I am still human. When it comes to someone experiencing a bout of anxiety, you might as well call it ESP. I will feel that thoroughly but still be in my own present mind.

This is one of those things that I hope I am doing the good I think I am doing for someone else’s sake. It seems to be helpful in the moment.

Either way, I will always help someone in such a situation to help it disappear.

Anxiety. Other people’s. And mine.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

