What You Percieve…

I was listening to the “Shawshank Prison (Stoic Theme)” from “The Shawshank Redemption” soundtrack.

Oh, let me just stop and say that “…Shawshank…” is my favorite dramatic movie ever hands down.

Anyways, if you have seen the movie, then you may remember the context of the song. It was when Andy (Tim Robbins) was being transported into Shawshank Prison as Red (Morgan Freeman) was, naturally, narrating his first impression. There is a pause in Red’s narrative and the song plays louder at it’s most dramatic change.

Knowing the context, I always perceive this particular song as sad, tragic, depressing.

Now, I have the original soundtrack in my archive of music. I like to listen to it, play along, and add melodies.

My sister was in the room and listening to it, not remembering the song and its context immediately. One of the things she said was, “It sounds happy.”

Interesting.

Even more interesting to me is that at that moment, for the first time, I imagined a scene with that song playing in the background and its context was in a more positive light.

Though the song had it’s majority of minor chords, I still was imagining it supplementing a positive scene.

Amazing. With an influence like that, it was a quite drastic, and in fact, 180 degree change in mood and thoughts associated with this song.

Just think, you could do that with anything you find negative in your life.

See, a negative pattern in thought by exercising the right to be happy… by just changing the pattern in which you think.

Easier said than done? Not really, I said exercise a.k.a. “practice”.

It’s why they have meditation “classes”.

It’s never the things you know that you need classes for.

Exercise your right to think positively of yourself whilst not thinking negative of life and the sometimes negative influences that appear in it.

Exercise your right to be happy.

Andy Dufresne did at the end of “The Shawshank Redemption”…

…and as Red said, “You either get busy livin’, or get busy dyin’.”

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

